National Flooring Retailer | Price Match Guarantee | Free Samples
Free Samples are available on most Greatmats products, please request Samples from a specific product page.
| Clearance

Greatmats 4th Annual National Dance Instructor of the Year Contest

2017 National Dance Instructor of the Year Finalists Named

Want to honor a dance instructor for his/her outstanding achievements, unique style or humanitarian efforts, etc.? Then nominate him/her for the 4th Annual National Dance Instructor of the Year Award, sponsored by Greatmats. The award, part of Greatmats National Award Series, is designed to recognize dance instructors who have made a difference in the lives of their clients and community through the virtues of service, integrity and quality.

Learn more about Greatmats National Award Series.

How to Nominate:

To nominate the dance instructor for this award, visit or email the following information to before Nov. 1, 2018. Nominators will not be identified.

  1. Dance Instructor's Name
  2. Name and Location of the Dance Studio (Must be located in the USA)
  3. A brief description of why you are nominating this instructor, including how he/she meets the criteria of high-level service, integrity and quality
  4. A photo and/or video of the Instructor

How the winner is chosen:

  1. Voting will take place at Nov. 15 through Nov. 29, 2018. The two dance instructors with the most votes will be named finalists.
  2. Greatmats will judge the two finalists to determine the winner based on:
    1. Demonstration of Service
    2. Demonstration of Integrity
    3. Demonstration of Quality

Grand Prize

  1. $250 in Greatmats Products (or $150 Cash Option) for the studio
  2. Instructor/studio profile to be released with the announcement of the winner on Dec. 14, 2018.
  3. National Dance Instructor of the Year Certificate
More than 6,900 votes have been cast over the first 3 years of the contest, which is part of Greatmats Annual National Award Series. The Greatmats Award Series is designed to recognize instructors, trainers and coaches, who have had a positive impact in their communities and the lives of their students.

Voting Instructions:

Visit during the voting period to vote for this year's National Dance Instructor of the Year. Click the vote button next to the photo of the Dance Instructor you'd like to win. Each voter can vote only once. Feel free to share the ballot with friends and family and encourage them to vote. The two dance instructors with the most votes will be named finalists. From that point, Greatmats will choose the winner (scroll down to see prizes) based on demonstration of service, integrity and quality.

Greatmats is a national dance flooring leader based in Milltown, Wisconsin, since 1999. Identified as one of the top 3,000 fastest growing companies in the USA three times since 2008, Greatmats gives back to its local community by donating 5% of its annual profits to local non-profit organizations. It also supports green initiatives through the use of solar energy at its Wisconsin headquarters and by offering a large variety of products made from recycled and renewable resources.

View all of Greatmats' dance flooring at

All media submissions, including text, photos and videos become property of Greatmats

Read about previous winners of the award:
2015 National Dance Instructor of the Year - Rosanne Vavasis
2016 National Dance Instructor of the Year - John Culbertson
2017 National Dance Instructors of the Year - Heidi Sulminski & Heather Gerardi


2017 Nominees
(Click on the name to see his/her nomination.)


Alison Woodward - Crazy About Dance - Anniston


Patricia Hoffman - Colorado Ballet Society - Colorado Springs


Amanda Pollard - Delaware State University/Danceworks Dance Studio of Delaware - Dover/Newscastle


Tara Foxworth - Oceanway School of Dance and Performing Arts - Jacksonville


Stephanie Pairitz - Epic Dance Studios - Elkhart


Allie Blau - Studio Dee - Fort Wright

Amber Bryant - AB Training Facility - Somerset


Elizabeth Warshauer - Articulate Motions Dance Academy - New Orleans


Kassandra Serafini - Wiley H. Bates Middle School - Annapolis


Heidi Sulminski and Heather Gerardi - H&H Dance Academy - Millbury


Laura Perez - Just For Kix - Spring Valley

North Carolina

Bonita Simpson - Bonita's School of Ballet - Monroe


Mandy Conforth - South Lane Ballet Academy - Cottage Grove


Danielle Fritz O'Brien - 3d Dance Studio - Northampton

Alice Mount - Adrenaline Dance of York - York


Ashlie Wells - Center Stage Dance Company - Winchester


JoJean Retrum - Monona Academy of Dance - Madison

Maeghan Johnson - Neenah-Menasha YMCA - Neenah

Anne Marie Abderholden - Valley Academy for the Arts - Neenah

Alicia Knopps - Diamond School of Dance - Eau Claire


2016 Nominees

Shannon Purcell
Rhythm Academy Dance Company, Toccoa, Georgia

Grace Badillo
Dancing with Grace Productions, Tampa, Florida

Jenny Lespi
Dream Makers Dance, Columbiana, Alabama

Terri Fortin
Terri's School of Dance, Abington, Massachusetts

John Culbertson
Dance Attack, Miami, Florida

For more on this topic please review our Dance Flooring Marley and Portable product page.