Categories
Greatmats is Open and Operational to Serve You
Greatmats is Open and Operational to Serve You

  

Customer Reviews for: Martial Arts Karate Mat Premium 1 Inch



Customer Rating:

06/15/2015


Looks great and enhances the image of our dojo. Great feel for daily karate training.


Jessica

Cincinnati, OH

Customer Rating:

05/07/2015


Mats look great and feel great. My students love the new mats.


Celeste

Hurricane, UT

Customer Rating:

05/04/2015


Definitely go with the larger size for a Dojo than the smaller 2x2. I went with the one inch size and it is perfect for all training in a karate school. It allows for lateral movement with no seams that would catch a foot (bare, with gear or shoes on). Dense compression is the key to this product.


New Bern Karate

Customer Rating:

04/22/2015


For real!! Best quality of service down to sales reps you order mat from. Make sure you get sample of product you before you spend your money! Even youre freight brokers Went out there way make sure delivery was smooth process! Broker called me ahead of time I arranged. I had large shipments, I needed movers there.. Instead of just dropping all my brand new mats on dusty rocky road, truck driver was kind enough to wait few mind for movers come!! I am beyond please with quality of mats, on time deliveries, updates on my deliveries. I would recommend your company to any of my friends, clients or family!! Great mats has great quality all the way down line!! FYI- I ordered heavy bags same time as I ordered from great mats.. Im still waiting on my heavy bags!! never order thing from that company because of freight!! company!!


Patrons LLC

Customer Rating:

04/17/2015


These mats are superior quality. Very dense foam and they handle very well with our Muay Thai and Boxing sparring. The mats were even delivered 2 days earlier than expected. Very satisfied as a customer.


BT

Customer Rating:

04/11/2015


Great product for the price! Super happy with how easy they were to install, and the protection they provide for my students. Will definitely order these again for my next karate space.


Rachel

Fairfax, VA

Customer Rating:

02/19/2015


Very satisfied with the flooring. I recommend greatmats for all your martial arts flooring.


Fred

Cleveland, TN

Customer Rating:

02/07/2015


The best choice to do my own Dojo at home!!!


Luis Vargas

Customer Rating:

02/04/2015


The puzzle cuts should be universal on all four sides. Having different cuts on four sides means that we as the consumer must buy extra mats due to having to cut the mats to make them fit our facility. If the puzzle cuts were universal than this would not be an issue. Also the color of the wood tiles vary greatly. Some are light some very dark.


Isaac

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO

Customer Rating:

01/28/2015


i am totally satisfied with this purchase. I surely will recommend this company to my friends. The only one wish I have is that I could have gotten them wholesale. Again Great Mats.


Fred Roddy

Customer Rating:

11/09/2014


I ordered the woodgrain/black because I wanted the entire floor to look like a wood floor. The color of the mats were inconsistent so I tried several times blend the colors which didn't work out well. But in the end I was very happy with the results and I love my new floor! It was easy to install by myself. First I removed the carpet, carpet tack strips, carpet underlay and scaped off the glue. Then I vacuumed up the cement floor and assembled the full-sized mats directly over the cement in the majority of the room. Then, I measured and cut the remaining tiles to fit until the room was complete. Cutting and fitting the edges was easy. I will be using this room primarily to practice Nia and Yoga. It is very comfortable to dance on with bare feet and I don't even need to drag out a yoga mat!


Deborah

Parker, CO

Customer Rating:

08/28/2014


PAM IS A GREAT SALES REP. I WILL ALWAYS USE GREATMATS FOR MY KARATE NEEDS.


Sureita Samuels

Customer Rating:

08/23/2014


I was a bit skeptical at first but they were very great to work with and they got them to us a LOT faster than I thought. I would definitely go through them again.


Middlefield Karate

Customer Rating:

07/26/2014


I ordered the 1 inch thick wood/black karate mats to use in my large 27ft x 24 foot martial arts/exercise room. They mat tiles are made in Taiwan. The ordering process was simple and the Great Mats representative was very nice on the phone. The mats arrived at my garage on a pallet within a week after I ordered them. I used the computer program on the Great Mats site to help me figure out how many I needed. The individual tiles are quite big in size (21 in x 21 in). When completed I ended up with 15 extra tiles. I will keep them for a while as replacements if needed or use them in other work areas around the house (The remnants are great for kneeling on in my garden). Half of my shipment turned out to be a darker wood color than the rest, so I ended up switching around the arrangement in the room and created a very beautiful checkerboard effect that I really like. The tiles feel firm yet soft enough on my feet. They could be a little smooth (resulting in being slippery) for stocking feet, but do well with my bare feet or martial arts light weight soled shoes. I didnt notice any film on them as noted in other reviews, so maybe they solved that problem. A few of the darker tiles seem thinner than the lighter ones, so there is a little bumpiness where they go together in some spots. I am waiting to see if they settle in some more before I put some thick tape on the edges to bring the lower tile edges up a few centimeters. Oh, for the sides of the room I ended up using a small hand saw to cut the mats instead of using a razor blade. It worked so much better and cut right through the mats. I would recommend this to others. My treadmill and elliptical sink slightly into the mats, and I needed to put down thick cardboard when I was rolling them into place so as not to mar or tear the floor. That worked well and the equipment does well. The only concern I have now is that the new mats do give off a plastic/chemical odor. I am airing out my room and hoping that they will stop off-gassing in a week or so otherwise I will have to try some experiments with cleaning products to see how I can stop the smell. So, for the cost, look, and comfort of the floor I think I made a great choice. Great mats seemed to have the best deal on the internet. It was the fraction of the cost of a wood floor and the install was very easy and took about 6 hours. Just lay them out, fit the edges together, and cut the tiles on the edges of the room. The jury is still out on the fumes...if those settle down then I am very very happy. Now, if someone truly wanted identical wood color for every tile then they might not be as pleased, but I much prefer the checkerboard look as it is very pleasing to my eye and makes the room much more visually interesting. If I had to do it again, I would choose this floor. The nice thing is that down the line if I want to change to wood or something else the floor removal will be a breeze as I did not have to glue anything down. Happy I ran across Great Mats on the internet.


Charles Boardman

Customer Rating:

07/16/2014


this is a Great Company with a Excelent Products


Ventures Ally Limited

Customer Rating:

05/28/2014


Fast And Excellent Service Every Time I order. They are always very helpful and polite.


Spirit of the Wolf

Customer Rating:

05/16/2014


I am not in favor of mats since I practice traditional Japanese Karate, and hardwood floor would be my only choice. I didn't want my new opened dojo (Unity Karate & Holistic Arts) to look like another Teakwondo school, but... I tried to keep the initial costs down and decided to go with these wooden look 1inch foam mats at least for now. Mats arrived within a week of ordering which was great. Installation was easy, unfortunately I didn't order enough and didn't want to pay another $300!!! on shipping for additional 10 mats. There were enough edge peaces, so I used them to fill the "gaps". The floor looks great and many people got fooled that it actually isn't a hardwood floor. Even though I am not super excited about the mats, my students love them. The fact that it is much safer to train on mats than on hardwood floor helps a lot, and I don't have to loose much sleep worrying about students getting injured falling down. My main complaint about these mats is, that they are extremely slippery (Sales Rep assured me that they are not). We practice barefoot. They were covered/soaked in "Armor all" like substance and needed to be seriously "broken in" It was extremely difficult and dangerous to train in the beginning. We washed them numerous times with all kinds of detergents, even rubbing alcohol, without much luck. It took 2 months of training (6 times/week) to brake them in. If you leave any heavier objects laying around, they will cause indentations in the mats. The surface is not super smooth as it's been said in the reviews, it is light sand like texture. Overall decent value.


Robert B

South Windsor, CT

Customer Rating:

05/16/2014


So far, I am very impressed with this product. I bought it to replace inferior tiles from a competitor. These are much more shock absorbent and have a durable top layer that I doubt will wear or peel. They are a little thick to cut and at doorway transitions but the payoff is in injury prevention.


Kelly

Perkasie, PA

Customer Rating:

05/16/2014


The mats are high quality and they look sharp. Its been six years since I ordered them the first time. I love them. I didnt really even consider getting them from somewhere else.


Dominachs TaeKwonDo Academy

Customer Rating:

04/25/2014


Greatmats rules! They got my quote,a sample, order and delivery in under 3 weeks of our dojo opening and I live across the country from there shop. Everyone on the phone was helpful. We laid them down last night and will send them pics when our new dojo location opens next week. thanks guys!!


James Newton