Categories
Call for Service 877-822-6622

  

Customer Reviews for: Martial Arts Karate Mat Premium 1 Inch



Customer Rating:

05/16/2014


I am not in favor of mats since I practice traditional Japanese Karate, and hardwood floor would be my only choice. I didn't want my new opened dojo (Unity Karate & Holistic Arts) to look like another Teakwondo school, but... I tried to keep the initial costs down and decided to go with these wooden look 1inch foam mats at least for now. Mats arrived within a week of ordering which was great. Installation was easy, unfortunately I didn't order enough and didn't want to pay another $300!!! on shipping for additional 10 mats. There were enough edge peaces, so I used them to fill the "gaps". The floor looks great and many people got fooled that it actually isn't a hardwood floor. Even though I am not super excited about the mats, my students love them. The fact that it is much safer to train on mats than on hardwood floor helps a lot, and I don't have to loose much sleep worrying about students getting injured falling down. My main complaint about these mats is, that they are extremely slippery (Sales Rep assured me that they are not). We practice barefoot. They were covered/soaked in "Armor all" like substance and needed to be seriously "broken in" It was extremely difficult and dangerous to train in the beginning. We washed them numerous times with all kinds of detergents, even rubbing alcohol, without much luck. It took 2 months of training (6 times/week) to brake them in. If you leave any heavier objects laying around, they will cause indentations in the mats. The surface is not super smooth as it's been said in the reviews, it is light sand like texture. Overall decent value.


Robert B

South Windsor, CT

Customer Rating:

05/16/2014


So far, I am very impressed with this product. I bought it to replace inferior tiles from a competitor. These are much more shock absorbent and have a durable top layer that I doubt will wear or peel. They are a little thick to cut and at doorway transitions but the payoff is in injury prevention.


Kelly

Perkasie, PA

Customer Rating:

05/16/2014


The mats are high quality and they look sharp. Its been six years since I ordered them the first time. I love them. I didnt really even consider getting them from somewhere else.


Dominachs TaeKwonDo Academy

Customer Rating:

04/25/2014


Greatmats rules! They got my quote,a sample, order and delivery in under 3 weeks of our dojo opening and I live across the country from there shop. Everyone on the phone was helpful. We laid them down last night and will send them pics when our new dojo location opens next week. thanks guys!!


James Newton

Customer Rating:

03/12/2014


Very happy with the Karate mats, they were in stock and I live close enough to pick them up. Good price and quality


Mark A Lintula

Customer Rating:

03/04/2014


These mats are easy to install look great and give my dojo a professional look. They are very durable and easy to maintain; when I purchase fold out mats for grappling you can .bet I will ordering them from Great Mats.


Kempo Jujutsu Martial Arts Academy Dyer.

Customer Rating:

02/23/2014


I originally considered installing a sprung hardwood floor, but ultimately chose Greatmats karate mats instead because of ease of installation and cost. Installation was extremely simple: just putting the puzzle-shaped mat pieces together. The surface was a little slippery to bare feet at first, but quickly the tactile grip improved, and is now good. Also, they dont like having anything heavy sit on them for any length of time--it will leave an indentation that may or may not go away when the weight is removed. But overall I am quite happy with this product. Also, the sales staff at Greatmats was very competent and helpful.


Robert

Customer Rating:

02/22/2014


Very good value. I had originally considered installing a sprung hardwood floor, but decided to go with the karate mats instead because of ease of installation and cost. When first installed, they were a little slippery to bare feet, but after a short time the "tack" has improved. Also, they do not like having anything heavy sitting on them for any length of time--it causes indentations. But overall, I am quite happy with this product.


Robert

San Jose, CA

Customer Rating:

02/20/2014


I made my order on a Sunday and the mats arrived in a swift, yet gentle manner on the Monday of the following week in excellent condition and ready to be broken in.


William

Customer Rating:

02/19/2014


Got great service when ordering ,and ,always easy to communicate to track my order, they show genuine concern for my satisfaction.


benjamin

Customer Rating:

02/19/2014


I order two times for two different class and always I got excellent customer service and good price. Thank you


Master Valian (LifeTime Martial Arts )

Customer Rating:

02/19/2014


Very fast independable service with high quality mats... Very good qualit!y Ive been happy with them since I bought mats from them four years ago. I will continue to buy their products as I grow to new heights with my school.


Justin

Customer Rating:

01/09/2014


product showed up on time and went in very easily very satisfied with product


Bob

Placerville, CA

Customer Rating:

12/09/2013


Outstanding product!


James

New Prague, MN

Customer Rating:

11/25/2013


Thanks Pam we are very happy with the mats. I'm attaching a couple of pictures for you. Happy Thanksgiving!


Nick

Olney, MD

Customer Rating:

11/06/2013


I would like to send a photo from Rice Lake Martial Arts Center in Rice Lake. We just got these mats over the summer and they are working great! The layout was done with much assistance from your tool on the website.


Biran

Rice Lake, WI

Customer Rating:

11/04/2013


The mats held up exceptionally well. Zero wear despite the activity. I'll certainly be contacting you again for my future mat flooring needs!


Marc

Video Shoot

Customer Rating:

10/15/2013


These mats are perfect for Karate training. The are not grooved or textured, which allows your feet to pivot easier. Some mats have too much grip. These have it just right. I would recommend these.


Dan

DUBLIN, CA

Customer Rating:

08/21/2013


We love our mats. We have them on our basement WO room and the padding is a perfect amount for impact in Tae Kwon Do. The interlocking system holds the mats really well, we have had no problems with slipping or shifting. They were shipped much faster than we anticipated, it was wonderful to do business with a company which is so concerned with customer service.


James

Lisbon, WI

Customer Rating:

08/09/2013


We Are very happy with our mats. They hold up well and are easily cleaned. Thank you. D.May


Donald

LaGrange, GA