National Flooring Retailer | Price Match Guarantee | Free Samples
Free Samples are available on most Greatmats products, please request Samples from a specific product page.
| Clearance
Categories

  

Customer Reviews for: StayLock Tile Bump Top Black



Customer Rating:

11/18/2018


Our goal is to slowly convert a home office space into a weight room. After extensive research and several samples later, we decided on the staylock bumptop. We started with 52 pieces to try before fully committing. We love it! We're really excited about the product and excited to see how the space will turn out when totally complete. We have a few more purchases to make to cover the whole floor but are thrilled so far.


Adamma

Atlanta, GA

Customer Rating:

11/18/2018


My husband and I were looking for the perfect flooring solution to place over carpet in a home gym on the second floor of our home. This is the perfect solution. It assembles easily and the pieces lock securely. WE have a long way to go to complete the project but are very happy with the results so far.


Anonymous

Buford, GA

Customer Rating:

08/22/2018


Great product for all purpose exercise surface over carpet. Helps absorb impact with Hiit exercises. Would highly recommend and am planning purchasing additNo am units for future expansion.


Luke

Plano, TX

Customer Rating:

10/20/2017


Great floor for home gym. No need for sub floor over concrete. Love it.


Esidro

Beaver Creek, OH

Customer Rating:

07/19/2017


Can't believe I put this bad boy together by myself. ... They have held up really well. ... It doesn't slide at all on the carpet.


Melissa

Traverse City, MI

Customer Rating:

04/27/2017


Very pleased with these mats for home gym. Lock tight and seal very nice. Placed over plywood resting on carpet.


Jason

Colorado Springs, CO

Customer Rating:

11/04/2016


Easily installed and wears great. Endless dimension options and the borders make it trip free.


Edin

New YorkCity, NY

Customer Rating:

11/03/2016


I absolutely love this product, it is sturdy, yet soft enough to do exercise directly on my mat. I used to have a cheaply made version of this mat that I got at a hardware store, and when I would put any of my lifting equipment on it, the pieces would break apart from one another and tear under the weight. My 'fitness' room is all carpeted floor. This product has just enough give to bend and not break due to the unevenness of the carpet, yet strong enough to keep my equipment elevated and level.


Antonio

Canton, OH

Customer Rating:

10/30/2016


I've held off on writing a review for some time to give service a chance to respond to issues I had with product. But since I never received a response, I will share my experience here. My major problem with the tiles is that they are not firm enough for the intended and promoted use case(s) - home gym flooring, equipment support, etc.. Long story short, I can depress areas of the tile a significant amount with just my thumb. In bare feet, my heels sink into areas of the tile that don't have direct floor contact. This makes for an unstable surface for workouts requiring stability. Any item placed on the floor leaves deep marks - not sure how they could ever stand up to any heavy gym equipment when they can be deformed by hand. For reference, I am 6' 1'' and about 205 pounds. I also had an issue with the strong smell (off-gassing) but that has since resolved - just was quite overwhelming initially and for weeks after. I'll wrap up by saying I potentially could have gotten a bad batch of tiles (some are worse than others but all are softer than expected and portrayed). I even suggested this possibility in my inquiry to service. Since ''softer'' tiles are sold at discount prices on website, the potential for softer batches from the production process clearly exists.Disappointingly, I didn't receive a response of any kind let alone an offer to remedy.


Jeffrey

State College, PA

Customer Rating:

08/25/2016


Very durable, easy to install, and easy to clean! Perfect mats for the small home gym I created. My Tools Used: A box knife, a straight edge metal yard stick, a pencil, and a board to cut on. My Method Used: I laid down all the full locking pieces I could and then precisely measured the wall-to-mat-gaps. I matched the measurements to each square piece (top side up) using two pencil marks per square (one on each end). I laid my pieces on a board and lined my metal yard stick up to each of the two pencil marks on each end. I pressed very firmly on the yard stick and pressed firmly on my box knife, repeating the cut until separated. The key here is to never move your yard stick once you start your first cut. If you move it, your repeated cuts through the rubber will be crooked. I was able to use on side of the box knife blade for the entire room. Slices like butter and I didn't lose any fingers... whew! Be careful using this method. Other methods might make it easier such as using an electric skill saw as they do for laying wood floors down. My square footage estimates for the entire order allowed me one extra rubber square after making a few mistakes along the way so the project was a success. Very happy with my purchase of this product. The mats seem like they will last through much abuse and I'm not afraid to get them scratched up over time as they have a rugged look anyhow. Easy to sweep and wipe clean so now I can sweat buckets without worrying about our new carpet. I highly recommend this product!


Steve

Melissa, TX

Customer Rating:

07/26/2016


Arrived when they said it would. Install was quick and easy. It is performing as expected.


Michael

Forest City, IA

Customer Rating:

07/01/2016


The StayLock Bump Top mats proved to be the perfect foundation for my new home gym. I wanted something that would protect my carpet from sweat, yet provide a solid platform for riding my bike, lifting weights, and jumping around doing HIIT training. These StayLock mats meet all of that criteria while elevating the look and feel of my home gym to that of a professional one. Additionally, Beth with customer service was extremely helpful in determining the proper quantity of pieces that I needed and finding me a reasonable shipping quote. The installation was fairly easy and took me a little over 2 hours to install 90 sqft.


Tammy

EUGENE, OR

Customer Rating:

02/29/2016


We had our basement refinished one year ago. At that time, we decided to use rubber mats we already had purchased. Since the mats were on top of carpet, they continued move and separate and we decided that our home gym needed something more permanent. We purchased and installed the Staylock Bump Top Black mats. They were extremely easy to install and it gave our basement a professional home gym look.


Laurie

Highlands Ranch, CO

Customer Rating:

02/13/2016


We had our basement refinished one year ago. At that time, we decided to use rubber mats we already had purchased. Since the mats were on top of carpet, they continued move and separate and we decided that our home gym needed something more permanent. We purchased and installed the Staylock Bump Top Black mats. They were extremely easy to install and it gave our basement a professional home gym look.


Laurie

Highlands Ranch, CO

Customer Rating:

12/10/2015


The StayLock Bump Top product is a very good, solid platform for weight training. My sense is that there might be better choices for plyometric-based workouts if you are looking for more cushion. It is very easy to put together and stays together perfectly. I installed this over carpet (that has a carpet pad underneath) and it has a functional trainer on top of it on one end. No problems with the tiles staying together even where there is a 200+ pounds on/around the seams. I would buy this product again. I do wish that GreatMats could find a cheaper solution for shipping. It was $50+ dollars for shipping alone on enough tile to cover a 6x8' area.


Mark

Lexington, MA

Customer Rating:

11/23/2015


The perfect solution for home gym/work area on carpeted surfaces


Jason

Gaithersburg, MD

Customer Rating:

09/09/2015


Order #: 1441399 After getting new carpet in my basement when my home gym is, my old rubber mat just wasn't doing the trick anymore. The higher pile of the carpet made the old mat slip and slide when I did my P90X workouts each morning; not a good thing. So I researched and researched to find good gym flooring options that go well over carpeting and I stumbled across a blog post from Greatmats. They said their staylock bumptop flooring was the perfect solution. After reading a couple of reviews about the flooring I was sold. I ended ordering about 56 sq ft (or 56 tiles) of the flooring along with the edging so their wouldn't be a lip. Took me about half an hour to install - it only required a rubber mallet and I followed the instructions from a Greatmats youtube video I found on ''how to install''. Super simple. All and all this product has worked perfect and it doesn't slide one bit during my workouts! Only thing that surprised me was that there doesn't seem to be an option to order just the corner edge pieces of the mat. I ordered the edge pieces thinking it would come with the corners but it didn't. I hope I can just order those corner pieces - I only need 2! You can see in the pictures what I mean.


Brian

Garnet Valley, PA

Customer Rating:

04/18/2015


This is a great product for those who wants a home gym. Holds well and stays firmly on carpet.


Sheldon

Sunnyvale, CA

Customer Rating:

04/01/2014


I ordered this product to use in my basement to give myself a solid platform from which to workout. I installed a 10 x 10' section over carpet in a finished basement and so far it's been great! The product is wearing beautifully and the tiles, once snapped together, stay together. I don't find that being over carpet has had a negative impact in any way. If I were to redo the basement, I would use this product solo for my workout area.


Matt

Chadds Ford, PA

Customer Rating:

12/10/2013


Durable product, easy to install, and excellent customer support in finding what product would be best for me. I am using this product over the plyo rubber for working out and it provides great impact resistance for working out, plyometrics etc. Fast shipping too! Highly recommend this product and this company.


Martin

Mendham , NJ